top of page

Marrakech Outfit Diary

Marrakech was somewhere I always wanted to visit, and this November I was lucky enough to do just that! The city is beautiful but a massive culture shock coming from England. It is only a 3 hour plane journey away but it is like travelling back in time to 300 years ago, but I loved every part of it, it reminded me so much of India!

We stayed in the gorgeous Riad Dar Alfarah right near the Place Jemaa el-Fna which is the main square with the fantastic Souks and the street food markets which came alive at night. Every morning we were served the most delicious Moroccan breakfast which included of course hot sweet mint tea, Moroccan pancakes, fresh orange juice, omelette and fruit.

The Souks sold literally everything from antique jewellery, leather shoes, lanterns, kaftans, straw bags and typical Moroccan food including spices, olives, pastries, dried fruit and nuts. The square was crazy and was busy every single night. Snake charmers, monkeys, Moroccan singers and dancers and even a man selling false teeth took over the main square trying to attract the tourists.

The Jardin Majorelle is a colourful and tropical garden which was founded by Yves Saint Laurent. Throughout the maze the colour stood out within the tall green plants and trees. Luckily we left just after the rain stopped, so on this humid day I wore this simple cotton midi dress from Zara that has these cute pom pom tie at the neck.

Midi Dress - Zara

Earrings - Zara

Sunglasses - Vintage

Bag - Mango

Shoes - H&M

I couldn't go to Marrakech and not visit the amazingly stunning La Mamounia Hotel. Literally every angle you look throughout this hotel is beautiful and has the most fantastic décor. The only thing I wish I did was go to the hotel during the day time, so my photos really gave justice to the wonderful gardens and the articulate mosaic designs.

Maxi Satin Gold Dress - Monsoon

Earrings - H&M

During my recent holidays, I've made it my mission to get myself a piece of clothing that represents that country's culture. Whilst exploring the Souks I found this Kaftan. I loved this Kaftan because despite the simplicity, it makes a statement with the gold detail against the bold teal colour. These photos were also taken in La Mamounia hotel.

Ben Youssef Madrasa defines the colour bomb that is Marrakech. It is probably one of the most instagramed place in Marrakech and I definitely could see why.

Printed Maxi Dress - H&M

Sunglasses - Vintage

Bag - Mango

Shoes - H&M

Trekking up the Atlas Mountains was one of the highlights of the trip. The views were amazing and definitely worth the two hour climb to see the beautiful waterfall! I bought this Berber coat in the Souks, they have many different colours but I loved this one. It kept me warm and obviously made me look the part!

Coat – Souks

Jeans – Zara

Top – Monsoon

Trainers – Vince Camuto

On our last night in Marrakech we went to Le Salama, which is a bar and restaurant. We went for drinks and dessert in the terrace bar. The restaurant had a colonial style about it with a panoramic view of the busy medina.

Shirt – H&M

Cullotes – Uniqlo

Sandals - Zara

 

I’m sure I will be taking another trip to Marrakech! I hope it never changes because that is the beauty of Marrakech is that you feel like you have gone to a medieval city and the people are so friendly! I have a lot more shopping to do in the Souks as well, so next time I go, I’ll be certain to take an empty suitcase aha! Another thing I did not expect to experience was the nightlife, we went to a fantastic club called Jad Mahal which had an excellent live band with such a great vibe.

Staying in a Riad is the best way to get a feel of Marrakech, it is like staying in a Moroccan house and the staff quickly become your family. One of the main things I miss, is the food, everything we had tasted amazing.

Take me back to colourful Marrakech!

Anishka xx


RECENT POST

ANISHKA ANAND

bottom of page